top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavis Reyes

Entry #2

1. In my individual research project I studied the history and mechanics behind bikes. From this research I learned a bit about what was going through the minds of the innovators when they were improving upon their invention. This included things like figuring out how to make the bike lighter, faster, and safer. We haven't actually started building our pipe lifter yet, but I imagine we are going to end up making lots of small tweaks to make it just a bit more efficient after every test. Some predictions I have are maybe looking for a longer spring and lighter magnets to ensure that spring can lift both them and our pipe.

2. Something going really well is that we actually have most of the materials needed to construct our machine. Also, thankfully, we figured out a way to make this without using any motors at all which is going to help remove a lot of room for error since we know that that are not always reliable with lifting weight. Also we have not spent a lot of money and still have a good amount left from what we fundraised at Alumni Night 2 weeks ago which will be good in case we need to get more materials. One thing that isn't going so well is our progress on actually making our machine since we haven't started assembling the pieces we've gathered. Although next week we'll get on this since our last needed piece, the base, will be ready.

3. One problem I anticipate with our project is the spring not being able to properly lift the pipe to the tip of the wooden base with the magnets. It's possible that it may be strong enough to get it off the bases initially but I'm worried it'll be too weak to carry through and will end up just dropping the pipe off to the side. Another possible issue could be our system of magnets that will clip the pipe onto the top reinforcing it once the spring is fully contracted. If the magnets snap the pipe into place on the base, it's possible that they are left touching the pipe and we could get disqualified. These are just 2 things that have crossed my mind when we've been brainstorming but hopefully I'll be proven wrong once we bet to testing.

4. Right now I'm focusing on finishing my college essays including the insight questions for the UC's, supplements on CommonApp and my personal statement. I've already drafted a few I just need to get them finalized. Also I've been studying for the SAT this weekend and really am just trying to be done with that test since it's really the only thing standing in my way of getting into some of the schools I'm applying to. Besides those two things, life is pretty good and my classes are pretty enjoyable this year. Except for Calculus BC; that class is just so boring.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

LAST BLOG!

I'll be starting my freshman year at the University of Southern California. At first I was a little uneasy about staying so close to home for college, but soon after my acceptance and after learning a

bottom of page